MiddayArt Illustration & Lettering

CHOOSE LANGUAGE:

  • Gathering & Arranging References

    When an artistic project is conceived, it often happens that you can not do without references. But it’s inconvenient and inefficient to just open the images in Google or to collect them in a folder. It is much easier and faster to use special tools, and let’s see what are they.

    The first one is — PureRef application for MS Windows, MacOS and Linux. It can be downloaded for a symbolic donation (optional, but desirable) and quickly installed on the computer. The interface of the application looks like a simple dark gray screen, where you can drag and drop the desired pictures right from the browser and arrange them in any order, place them in rows, arrange by size or whatever. Then the screen with the collected pictures can be saved to a special format file and opened in this application in future. Transparency of the application interface can be adjusted so that it does not interfere with other windows. Here’s how it looks:

    PureRef PureRef

    The second one is reference images that are always in your pocket. I mean the notable Pinterest.com. There was a time I actively saved pictures in it, and then I abandoned it, but now I am actively keepint it once again, and here’s why. Firstly, in Pinterest, you can instantly save images, united by the theme of our project, and view them from any device. Secondly, it is possible (and very useful!) to maintain your own visual library. What is it and why is it so good for you?

    The fact is that we do not live in a vacuum, and good ideas and works do not appear out of nowhere. Our successes are the result of our experience, knowledge, “vision”, awareness of the best samples in our field. Of course, if you like the work of some artist, it wouldn’t be a good idea to try to copy them thoughtlessly. But it IS a great idea to look at them, analyze, try to understand what you like about them and why. Collecting the images that we like (pictures in a certain technique, beautiful combinations of colors, examples of composition, subjects) in one place, we create our visual library and form our background, our knowledge and ideas about what the beautiful is. By the way, take a look at my Pinterest account.

     P.S. You like the article? Do share it with the friends. Or tell about your own experience in the comments below.

    Related Posts

    Tags: ,





    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    twelve − seven =

  • MIDDAYART NEWS:

    укажи здесь свой e-mail, чтобы получать всё новое и интересное. Никакого спама, только новые статьи и бесплатные материалы с MiddayArt.ru

    TAGS:

  • Tags




  • MOST VIEWED POSTS:

MiddayArt Illustration & Lettering

CHOOSE LANGUAGE:

  • Как организовать референсы? Визуальная библиотека

    Когда задумал какой-то художественный проект, часто бывает не обойтись без референсов. Но просто открывать нужные картинки в поисковике или собирать в папку — неудобно и неэффективно. Намного проще и быстрее воспользоваться специальными средствами, о которых я сейчас расскажу.

    Первое — это программа PureRef. Ее можно скачать за символическое пожертвование (необязательное, но желательное) и быстро установить на компьютер. Интерфейс программы выглядит как простой темно-серый экран, куда прямо из браузера можно перетаскивать нужные картинки и располагать их в любом порядке, а также упорядочивать рядами, по размеру или как удобнее. Затем экран с собранными картинками можно сохранить в файл особого формата и открыть его в этой программе в следующий раз. Прозрачность интерфейса программы можно менять так, чтобы он не мешал работать с другими окнами. Вот как это выглядит:

    PureRef PureRef

    Второе — это референсы, которые всегда с тобой, а именно Pinterest. Одно время я активно сохраняла в нём картинки, а потом забросила, но теперь снова активно его пополняю, и вот почему. Во-первых, в Pinterest можно молниеносно сохранять картинки, объединенные темой нашего проекта, и просматривать их абсолютно отовсюду. Во-вторых, в нём можно (и очень полезно!) вести свою визуальную библиотеку. Что это и зачем оно нужно?

    Дело в том, что мы живем не в вакууме, и хорошие идеи и работы не появляются из ниоткуда. Наши успехи — это результат приобретенного и осмысленного опыта, знаний, «насмотренности», осведомленности о лучших образцах в нашей области. Конечно, если вам нравятся работы какого-то художника, не нужно пытаться их бездумно копировать. А вот смотреть, анализировать, стараться понять, что вам в них нравится и почему — очень даже можно. И, собирая нравящиеся нам образы (работы в определенной технике, красивые сочетания цветов, примеры композиции, сюжеты) в одном месте, мы создаем свою визуальную библиотеку и формируем свой бэкграунд, свой багаж знаний и представлений о прекрасном. Если что, мой Pinterest можно посмотреть тут.

    P.S. Понравилась статья? Поделись с друзьями 🙂 А в комментариях можно рассказать о своем опыте организации визуальной информации.

    Related Posts

    Метки: ,





    Добавить комментарий

    Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

    шестнадцать − пять =

  • MIDDAYART NEWS:

    укажи здесь свой e-mail, чтобы получать всё новое и интересное. Никакого спама, только новые статьи и бесплатные материалы с MiddayArt.ru

    TAGS:

  • Метки




  • MOST VIEWED POSTS: