MiddayArt Illustration & Lettering

CHOOSE LANGUAGE:

  • Basics of Composition. Why is it so important?

    Composition is a means of expressiveness.
    This is such an organization of elements on your sheet that:

    1. emphasizes the most important (focus point)
    2. conducts the view throughout the picture, detaining attention on the main elements
    3. helps the viewer understand the author’s idea
    and
    4. gathers all the elements together, creating an integral, balanced and harmonious image.

    That is, the principles of composition are our tools, necessary to consciously control what is happening and to form the impression that the viewer will have when he looks at our picture.

    FORMAT

    First, the sheet format is not a dogma. The format may be chosen for our purposes. We are used to the A4 sheets, arranged vertically or horizontally. But here it is worthwhile to think: perhaps, for the landscape, the format of an elongated rectangle will fit, and the ivy climbing the tower is logical to place in a rectangle format that is elongated vertically. In addition, there is a stable and unshakable square format, as well as an ideal circle and even a variety of ovals.

    Various Formats

    (All the pictures here and below are taken from my Pinterest. The rights to the images belong to their authors.)

    COMPOSITION CENTRE

    Also called the semantic centre. This is the very main thing which our picture is devoted to. To emphasize the composition centre, you may:
    1. place it in the focus points / focus lines of your format
    2. point at it with some lines
    3. emphasize it by means of color and/or tone contrast

    Depending on the position of the semantic (composition) centre, your composition may be either SYMMETRICAL (1) or ASYMMETRICAL (2). The symmetry evokes sensation of stability, statics. Asymmetry arises the feel of dynamics. By the way, asymmetrical composition doesn’t mean chaos. It also have to be well-balanced.

    Symmetric - Asymmetric

    What are the focus points of your format? Here there are two historical traditions of perception: European and Asian one. The “European” composition centre is located in the top central part of the sheet. The “Asian” one is one of the intersections between the lines that divide the sheet into thirds. This classification is barely conventional and it has some relation to the artistic traditions of the East and the West.

    Consequently, the focus lines of the format are the vertical and horizontal lines that contain the focus points.

    Composition Center

    MOVEMENT DIRECTION

    We read and write from left to right, and this is also the way we view pictures.

    Psychologically, if a person (charachter) stands in the left part of the format and looks to the right, it seems to us that it goes (looks) forward (1). If a person stands in the right part of the format and is turned left  — it seemingly “turns (goes) back”.
    Besides, movement direction to the top and to the right is considered by us as something good, growth, joy, ascent. Conversely, movement to the bottom and to the left is considered as decrease, decay, sadness (2).

    Frames and pointers are the lines in the composition that allow to abridge the scene, to focuse the view on the most important thing (1). The lines in composition make the viewer unconsciously follow them and the viewer’s eye moves along these lines to the focus of the picture (2). That is why it is wrong to make straight vertical or horizontal lines that go through the picture from edge to edge — they quickly carry the viewer’s eye through the image, not allowing it to linger at the picture details.

    Frames and Pointers

    TONE HIERARCHY

    This is a very important principle that makes our composition integral and firm: the spots of different colour and tone MAY NOT occupy equal space in the picture. E.g., if we take only 4 tones: black, dark grey, light grey, and white, we may arrange their amounts according to the following scheme. They may be placed in any order, but their amounts MUST be different. If we observe this principle, the areas of different tone do not contradict with one another, and there’s harmony and just proportion in our picture.

    Hierarchy of tone

    Similarly, we may replace one of the greys with dark blue:

    Hierarchy of tone

    Or arrange 4 spectral colours according to this scheme:

    Hierarchy of tone

    OVERLAPPING

    If objects in the picture do not just stand next to one another, but overlap — it’s the simplest way to create an illusion of depth.

    Overlapping of forms

    CROPPING

    You may just draw a frame and place the objects inside it, about the centre of the image and not touching the borders (1). Or you may make such a composition that some objects will cross the borders of the frame (2). This creates additional dynamics and make the viewer feel involved. It seems to the viewer that he/she is inside the image, as some objects feel like dropping out his/her field of vision.

    It depends on our artistic aims and intuition, whether to use this or that method:
    Cropping

    OBJECT and BACKGROUND CORRELATION: CONTRAST / NUANCE

    There are three types of contrast:
    1. Tone contrast  (i.e. lighter/darker)
    2. Color contrast (i.e. red and green colors are contrast ones, while red and orange colors are relatives, there are no contrast between them)
    3. Empty/full (e.g., the place where a dense dappled pattern adjoins white empty space of the sheet, is a place of contrast. While two dappled patterns do not contrast as much)

    While the contrast is a strong contradiction in some feature, the nuance is a weak or barely noticeable contradiction. It means that we should use contrast for the main elements and nuance for the minor ones.

    SIMPLE ETERNAL RULES OF COMPOSITION:

    Rule of Thirds
    It is based on the simplified rule of the Golden Section. If you divide the sheet into three parts in height and width, then the resulting lines and their intersection points will be those very areas where we unconsciously direct the eye first. Therefore, it is there that it is appropriate to have the main thing that we want to say about.

    Rule of Thirds

    Rule of Odds
    It is good to have an odd number of elements in the picture, not an even number — three, five, etc. Also, ideally, those elements should be subject to a hierarchy: the greatest, smaller, the smallest, and they should not occupy same amount of space in the picture. Why so? It’s just magic 🙂 If there are two apples in the picture, the viewer just glance at them and that’s all (1). If there are three apples, the view starts to linger among them, examining them, because this triangle seems to our brain to be a more complicated configuration that worths evaluating and analyzing (2).

    Rule of Odds

    Rule of Triangles
    This implies the rule of triangles. If the objects are placed on the tops of some triangle, and moreover, if they fall on the focus lines of the sheet, then such objects are in the focus of perception. Also in painting — if, for example, the red color appeares at one point in the sheet, then it must necessarily flit in two more points, so that a triangle would form — then our eye considers this arrangement to be harmonious.

    MAIN COMPOSITION ERRORS TO AVOID

    1. The object shouldn’t be too big (to get out the format) or too small (get lost in it)
    2. The object shouldn’t be placed too high or too low
    3. The object should be well-balanced
    Errors in Composition
    4. The objects shouldn’t be located straight on the vertical or horizontal axis of the format (unless this is a decorative composition)
    5. …shouldn’t run into the edge of the sheet
    6. …shouldn’t run into the corners of the sheet
    7. …shouldn’t run into the edge of one another

    Errors in Composition

    or it would be just awful.

    On the contrary, if we avoid possible errors and compose our picture consciously, bearing in mind the composition principles, it will be strong, integral and harmonious. By the way, all the same rules are applicable in photography and cinema.

    Liked this article? Share with your friends! And welcome to the comments if you wish 🙂

    Related Posts

    Tags: ,





    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    twenty − 13 =

  • MIDDAYART NEWS:

    укажи здесь свой e-mail, чтобы получать всё новое и интересное. Никакого спама, только новые статьи и бесплатные материалы с MiddayArt.ru

    TAGS:

  • Tags




  • MOST VIEWED POSTS:

MiddayArt Illustration & Lettering

CHOOSE LANGUAGE:

  • Основы композиции. В чём ее сила?

    Композиция — это средство выразительности.
    Это такая организация элементов в пространстве листа, которая:

    1. подчеркивает самое главное (фокус)
    2. проводит взгляд зрителя по всей картине, задержав внимание на главном
    3. помогает зрителю понять смысл, заложенный автором
    и
    4. собирает все элементы воедино, создавая цельное, равновесное и гармоничное изображение.

    То есть, принципы композиции — это наши инструменты, необходимые, чтобы сознательно управлять происходящим и формировать то впечатление, которое сложится у зрителя, глядя на нашу работу.

    ФОРМАТ

    Во-первых, формат листа не является какой-то догмой. Формат можно выбирать под наши цели. Всем привычно рисовать на листах формата А4, расположенных вертикально и горизонтально. Но тут стоит подумать: возможно, для пейзажа подойдет формат удлиненного по горизонтали прямоугольника, а плющ, взбирающийся по башне, логично разместить в формате прямоугольника, удлиненного по вертикали. Кроме того, есть устойчивый и непоколебимый квадратный формат, а также идеальный по форме круг и даже разнообразные овалы.

    Various Formats

    (Все примеры работ здесь и ниже взяты из моего Pinterest. Права на изображения принадлежат их авторам.)

    КОМПОЗИЦИОННЫЙ ЦЕНТР

    Он же смысловой центр. То главное, о чём рассказывает наша работа. Чтобы подчеркнуть композиционный центр, можно:
    1. Разместить его в сильных точках / на сильных линиях формата
    2. Указать на него с помощью линий
    3. Подчеркнуть его с помощью контраста, цветового и/или светлотного

    В зависимости от того, где расположен смысловой (композиционный) центр, композиция может быть
    СИММЕТРИЧНОЙ (1) или АСИММЕТРИЧНОЙ (2). Симметрия вызывает ощущение устойчивости, статики. Асимметрия — ощущение динамики. При этом асимметричная композиция ≠ хаос на листе. В ней тоже должно быть равновесие.

    Symmetric - Asymmetric

    Что такое сильные точки формата? Тут есть две традиции восприятия: европейская и восточная. «Европейский» композиционный центр — это верхняя средняя часть листа. «Восточный» композиционный центр — это одно из пересечений, создаваемых линиями, которые делят лист на трети. Это деление чисто условное и связано с особенностями художественной традиции Запада и Востока.

    Соответственно, сильные линии формата — это вертикали и горизонтали, на которых содержатся такие точки.

    Composition Center

    ДВИЖЕНИЕ В ФОРМАТЕ

    Мы читаем и пишем слева направо, и картинки мы рассматриваем так же.
    Если персонаж находится в левой части листа и развернут вправо, то нам кажется, что он идет (смотрит) вперед (1). Если он находится в правой части листа и обращен влево — то он «возвращается (смотрит) назад».
    Также движение вверх и вправо воспринимается нами как нечто позитивное, рост, радость, взлет. Движение вниз и влево — как снижение, упадок, печаль (2).

    Рамки и указатели — это те линии в композиции, которые позволяют ограничить сцену, сфокусировав взгляд на самом главном (1). Линии в композиции заставляют зрителя невольно следовать за собой, чтобы, войдя в пространство картины, подвигаться по нему, рассмотреть и прийти к главному (2). Поэтому ошибкой являются те вертикали и горизонтали, которые идут «навылет» — по ним взгляд просто входит в пространство листа с одной стороны и тут же выходит с противоположной, не задерживаясь ни на чём.

    Frames and Pointers

    ИЕРАРХИЯ ПЯТЕН

    Это очень важный принцип, делающий композицию цельной и нерушимой: пятна разного цвета и тона НЕ ДОЛЖНЫ занимать в картине одно и то же количество пространства. Например, возьмем для начала изображение в четырех тонах: черный, белый, светло-серый и темно-серый. Их количество можно разложить по следующей схеме в любом порядке, так, что в итоге на картине будет зрительно разное количество пятен каждого тона, а значит они не будут спорить между собой.

    Hierarchy of tone

    Аналогично, можно один из серых заменить темно-синим:

    Hierarchy of tone

    Или разложить по этой схеме четыре спектральных цвета:

    Hierarchy of tone

    ПЕРЕКРЫТИЕ ПЯТЕН

    Если все предметы на листе расположены не рядом, а перекрывают друг друга — это самый простой способ создать иллюзию пространства, глубины изображения.

    Overlapping of forms

    КАДРИРОВАНИЕ

    Можно очертить рамку и расположить все предметы внутри нее, примерно по центру и не касаясь границ (1). А можно построить композицию так, что некоторые предметы уйдут за край листа (2). Это создает дополнительную динамику и чувство вовлеченности зрителя. Он как будто оказывается изнутри картины, раз некоторые предметы как бы частично выходят из поля его зрения. Использование того или иного способа кадрирования зависит от наших художественных задач:
    Cropping

    ОТНОШЕНИЕ ПРЕДМЕТА И ФОНА: КОНТРАСТ/НЮАНС

    Контраст может быть трех видов:
    1. Тональный (то есть светлее/темнее)
    2. Цветовой (например, красный и зеленый цвета контрастные, а красный и оранжевый — родственные, то есть контраста между ними нет)
    3. Пустота/заполненность (например, в месте, где пестрая фактурная форма соприкасается с белым незаполненным листом, возникает контраст. А две фактуры, примерно равные по плотности, контраста не создают)

    Если контраст — это резкое противопоставление по какому-то признаку, то нюанс — это слабое или еле заметное различие. Соответственно, на контрастах решаются самые главные элементы композиции, а на нюансах — вторые, третьи и так далее по степени важности.

    ПРОСТЫЕ ПРАВИЛА КОМПОЗИЦИИ НА ВСЕ ВРЕМЕНА:

    Правило третей
    Основано на упрощенном правиле золотого сечения. Если разделить лист на три части по высоте и ширине, то получившиеся линии и точки их пересечения будут теми самыми областями, куда мы неосознанно направляем взгляд в первую очередь. Поэтому именно там уместно располагать то главное, о чем мы хотим сказать.

    Rule of Thirds

    Правило нечетных
    Хорошо, когда в композиции нечетное число элементов — три, пять и т.п. При этом, в идеале, элементы также должны подчиняться иерархии — самый большой, меньше, самый маленький, и не должны занимать по массе одинаковое место в пространстве листа. Почему так? Это просто магия 🙂 Если нарисовано два яблока, зритель быстро проскальзывает по ним взглядом и всё (1). Если нарисовано три яблока, взгляд начинает блуждать между ними, т.к. треугольник все-таки более хитрая и сложная конфигурация, чем прямой отрезок между двумя точками, и мозгу требуется больше времени, чтобы оценить и проанализировать это (2).

    Rule of Odds

    Правило треугольников
    Отсюда вытекает правило треугольников. Если предметы размещены на вершинах треугольника, да еще и попадают на сильные линии листа, то такие предметы находятся в фокусе восприятия. Также и в живописи — если, например, красный цвет появился в одной точке листа, то он обязательно должен промелькнуть еще в двух точках, чтобы сложился некий треугольник — тогда наш глаз считает такое расположение гармоничным.

    ОСНОВНЫЕ ОШИБКИ В КОМПОЗИЦИИ

    1. Изображение не должно быть слишком крупным (вылезать из листа) или слишком мелким (теряться на нем)
    2. Изображение не должно быть слишком высоко или слишком низко
    3. Изображение должно быть равновесным
    Errors in Composition
    4. Предметы не должны находиться четко по вертикальной или горизонтальной оси (исключение: декоративная композиция)
    5. …не должны упираться в край листа
    6. …не должны упираться четко в угол листа
    7. …не должны упираться друг в друга

    Errors in Composition

    (Изображения из книги: В.С. Шаров «Академическое обучение изобразительному искусству»)

    иначе это страх, ужас и уныние.

    А если избегать ошибок и сознательно «сочинять» свою работу, помня о принципах композиции, то работа будет гармоничной и сильной по своему воздействию на зрителя, будет приковывать взгляд. Кстати, ровно те же самые принципы работают и при построении кадра в фотографии и кинематографе.

    Понравилась статья? Расскажи друзьям!

    Related Posts

    Метки: ,





    Добавить комментарий

    Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

    2 × 2 =

  • MIDDAYART NEWS:

    укажи здесь свой e-mail, чтобы получать всё новое и интересное. Никакого спама, только новые статьи и бесплатные материалы с MiddayArt.ru

    TAGS:

  • Метки




  • MOST VIEWED POSTS: